Kitchinspiration

If you have been following my Pinterest lately you may have noticed a flood of kitchen pictures in your feed.  (Side note, who else has switched to the new look on Pinterest?  I think I like it!) I asked my parents for a yoga mat for my last birthday, and my mom came back and said, how about new granite counter tops for your kitchen? Ummmm yeah, can’t say no to that!  My parents are two of the most generous people I know and I can definitely get my own yoga mat!

So my mom and I are going counter top shopping and I need pinspiration! I can’t figure out if i want to go light or dark. My kitchen is very eclectic… wood floors, ocean blue walls, chalkboard refrigerator, vintage white stove…and I have white cabinets.

I could stick with my white cabinets and go with a white/light counter top, which lends to a very clean and pristine look, albeit monochromatic, but I like how you can add in pops of color through accessories to liven it up a bit. Also, my kitchen is tiny, so light and bright would help keep it from feeling like a cave.  Something like:

kitchen_glasscabinetsPhoto Credit: [Seventh House on the Left]

white kitchenPhoto Credit: [Design Sponge]

On the other hand, a dark counter top would be a nice contrast with the white cabinets.  More interest and less stark white and boring.

dark countersPhoto Credit: [Better Homes and Gardens]

172992b97b77Photo Credit: [Decor Pad]

To be honest I am pretty sure that I could go back and forth for months trying to figure out if I like the light or dark counters more, so to be safe I am thinking of ending up with something in between.  I really love these counters that seem to be in the middle.  I think they help keep these kitchens light and bright but still add a bit of contrast.

white with dark veinPhoto Credit: [Country Living]

gray countersPhoto Credit: [Better Homes and Gardens]

So where do you stand on the counter top question?  Light, dark or medium?  I’m not totally sure about the counters yet, but looking at these pictures definitely makes me want to put subway tile on the backsplash!  It’s been a while since I laid the tile in the bathroom, after the counters are installed I think it’s time for another run with the wetsaw… I can hear the groans from my husband now…

Stay tuned for pictures of our own kitchen, with some counters photoshopped for an even better visual to help us decide…

This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kitchinspiration

  1. Angie says:

    Oooh, I love the in between grey!!

  2. Wayne Soller says:

    Have someone who shares your sense of style/design/whatever you women call it, go out and bring you a few samples – because you have to see it in the context it will be in right? – (do they allow samples of countertops to be taken home?) and then you take a quick look at the samples and go with what you love. If you don’t love any of them, get a new friend who shares your sensibilities and repeat. Going back and forth sucks.

  3. I vote for white, looks great with wood floors

Leave a comment